Ireland, also known as the Republic of Ireland, is a sovereign state in north western Europe occupying about five-sixths of the island of Ireland. It shares land border only with Northern Ireland, a part of the United Kingdom. It is otherwise surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, with the Celtic Sea to the south, Saint George’s Channel to the south east, and the Irish Sea to the east.

The Irish Free State was created in 1922 as a result of the Anglo-Irish Treaty. It effectively became a republic, with an elected president, under the constitution of 1937, in which it was named “Ireland”. It was officially declared a republic in 1949.

Ireland ranks among the wealthiest countries in the world in terms of GDP per capita. The country achieved considerable prosperity from 1995 to 2007, during which it became known as the Celtic Tiger. In 2011 and 2013, Ireland was ranked as the seventh-most developed country in the world by the United Nations Human Development Index. Ireland is a member of the European Union.

Why Study in Ireland?

  • High Quality Education
  • Wide Range of Program Selection at Diploma / Bachelor / PG Diploma / Master Levels
  • Up to 2 Years Work Permit after Study
  • Students can Apply for PR under Green Card Scheme
Explore Ireland As a Study Destination

Ireland Education System

Primary System

It consists of an eight year cycle: junior infants, senior infants, and 1 to 6 Grade classes.

Secondary System

  • Generally starts at Age of 12 years and lasts for 6 years.
  • Common program is for three years leading to the Junior Certificate Examinations which can be taken at three different ability levels.
  • This is followed by a transition year during which students follow a more flexible program.
  • The senior cycle is of two years duration and ends with the Leaving Certificate examinations. This also can be taken at three different ability levels.
  • The higher level gives access to university and applied levels to more technical and vocational training.
  • The secondary-level education sector comprises secondary, vocational, community and comprehensive schools.

Leaving Certificate – Vocational Program

The Leaving Certificate Vocational Program (LCVP) is similar to the traditional Leaving Certificate Program, with a concentration on technical subjects and some additional modules which have a vocational focus.

Leaving Certificate – Applied Program

The Leaving Certificate Applied (LCA) Program is a self-contained two-year course, intended to meet the needs of those students who are not adequately catered for higher education. It is a person-centered course involving a cross-curricular approach rather than a subject based structure.

Higher Education

  • There are mainly 3 levels of education offered by Universities, Technological Institutions, and Colleges of Education which are funded by the State. In addition there are a number of independent private colleges.
  • There are seven universities, which are autonomous and self-governing. They offer degree programs at Bachelor, Master and Doctorate levels.

Postgraduate Diploma

This is a vocational course, linked to professions like Teaching or Librarianship. The subject may be different from the primary degree.

Master Degree

This can be either a taught course or based on research. It lasts 1-2 years and usually involves course work and a thesis.

Doctorate Degree

This is a doctorate awarded for a thesis based on research. It takes at least 3 years study and it must be an original contribution to knowledge.

Ireland Visa Process